Does this make me a nerd?!

Happy New Comic Day!!
So, last week was a bit of a light week for releases and it gave me a chance to finally check out (on @4thworldZombie‘s recommendation) Jeff Lemire’s The Nobody.

20120222-195247.jpg
DO IT! Seriously! It’ll take you no time at all to read and it is a beautiful little book about an invisible man who can’t help but get noticed by the population of the small fishing town of Large Mouth. Upon completion, it made me think of the Twilight Zone episode, “The Monsters Are Due on Maple”. I really loved it! I want to buy an original page from it eventually for sure!

Notable from last week (not in my top 5):

20120222-190128.jpg
Dungeons & Dragons?! Seriously?! Me?! Does this make me a nerd?!
When I was a little kid, I went to my local comic shop in Virginia called, Richmond Comix where there were normally kids set up at tables playing some game with a 100 sided dice (forgive me if that’s wrong). These kids were incredibly unwelcoming to newcomers. I get that now. It was their thing. It was their thing which people probably gave them tons of shit about already anyway. Of course they would be unwelcoming, but at the time, I was pissed. I guess it kind of stuck with me, because since then, I’ve done everything in my power to avoid Dungeons & Dragons… That shit is for nerds (how many people did I just piss off?).
Anyway, IDW is putting out a crossover events right now called Infestation 2, which I am only reading because eventually the Ninja Turtles are getting involved. SHIT! I’m going to have to read Dungeons & Dragons comics?! Bullshit!
Turns out, I fucking loved the first issue! It was like Sherlock Holmes in a fantasy setting! It was tons of fun, and I’m actually really looking forward to checking out #2 this week! NERD.

BREAKING NEWS!! Nerdtown’s population is growing!!!!!!!
Tons of new stuff is happening here in Nerdtown! Including some new writers for this blog! I’m teaming with my favorite comic shop in the world, 4th World Comics (Smithtown, NY) in an attempt to bring you guys more. At some point over this next month, you’ll start to see articles, news, reviews or whatever the fuck the fine people over at 4th World feel like saying! There has even been some talk of a weekly podcast… SHHH! Don’t tell anyone!
I’VE SAID TOO MUCH!!!
SPOILERS!!

Let’s do the pulls!!!
It was all I could do to not put American Vampire in my Top 5 this week. It’s just so damn good I can’t stand it! But I promised I would be trying to switch it up a bit and stop picking all the same books every week.
Here we go, 2/22/12 Top 5 Pulls:

Prophet #22

20120222-191741.jpg
Image: Brandon Graham and Simon Roy

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #7

20120222-191915.jpg
IDW Publishing: Kevin Eastman, Tom Waltz and Dan Duncan

Chew #24

20120222-192037.jpg
Image: John Layman and Rob Guillory

No Place Like Home #1

20120222-192137.jpg
Image: Angelo Tirotto and Richard Jordan

All Star Western #6

20120222-192237.jpg
DC Comics: Jimmy Palmiotti, Justin Gray and Moritat

One more quick thing before I go.

20120222-192848.jpg
This Good Robot played the first round of The Bamboozle Break Contest this past Sunday and we had a blast!! Made tons of new friends and saw some great new bands! Thank you guys so much for coming out to support us! Thanks to you, This Good Robot has advanced to the next round!
Let’s do it again!!! We could really use your help. YES! YOU!! Go sign up on Yuubreak.com Friend us and talk about us. You have no idea how much just that alone will help! Once we have more info on the next round, we will be sure to pass it on! We can’t do this without you. I’m not just talking about the contest, I’m talking about the band in general… We can’t do it without you… It wouldn’t be nearly as much fun. Be a part of what happens when This Good Robot takes over the planet.
LONG LIVE THIS GOOD ROBOT!!

My band: THIS GOOD ROBOT
My twitter: @THISGOODIDIOT
My Facebook: I NEED TO USE THIS MORE THAN I DO… Sorry.
My Original Comic Art Gallery: Now I’m just showing off…

::VWORP:: ::VWORP::

Leave a comment

Leave a comment