Magic, Comics, and Bigotry! Oh My!!

Annyong!!

Recently, I was tweeting about looking for an artist to draw me a TARDIS for a tattoo I want to get. Technology is incredible! Five minutes later I was chatting with a total stranger. He asked about what I was wearing and everything got a bit weird… five minutes after that, this guy Sean Von Gorman tweets at me and we work out that, being an artist and all, he is going to draw and send me a Tardis, and I am going to, in turn, send him a bit of American currency… everyone wins! Haven’t gotten the tattoo yet, but the art came in the mail yesterday and it’s great!
Check it out!
20120228-204635.jpg
I just can’t wait to put it on my body for forever and ever.
Gorman and I got to talking about music, art and comics in general and he eventually sent me an advanced copy of his comic, The Secret Adventures of Houdini.
20120229-191627.jpg
I read it twice. The first time, I found it fun and enjoyable with great art. The second time however, I picked up on all of these wonderful new elements of storytelling I somehow missed the first time. One of my favorite scenes was when Houdini is putting on make up to cover his bumps and bruises from that night’s secret escapades hiding them from his wife? His public? Always in character, always playing a part, always “The Master of Disguise”!
Anyway, lots of action, tons of fun! Definitely check it out! Tell your local store to order it, and/or you can order copies here:
The Secret Adventures of Houdini.

To promote the release of the first issue today, Gorman spent all day handcuffed to a pole in front of Forbidden Planet Comics in New York until all the issues are sold out. I love stuff like this!! Last we checked in with Gorman, it’s getting dark and it’s still raining… GOOD LUCK OUT THERE SEAN!!20120229-191345.jpg

Check out his band: Super Secret Side Project (gonna have to get some shows going with them and This Good Robot soon!)

Notable from last week (not in my top 5:

Very excited about the Justice League Dark / I, Vampire crossover that’s coming up. A little upset that I read Justice League dark first this week. Spoilers.

Morning Glories #16: I love time travel and 32 ad-free pages + a preview for 2.99!! I love you Image comics!

Onto the pulls:

The Cape #4
20120229-192741.jpg
IDW Publishing: Joe Hill, Jason Ciaramella and Zach Howard

Invincible #89
20120229-192952.jpg
Image: Robert Kirkman and Ryan Ottley

Moon Knight #10
20120229-193151.jpg

Spaceman #4 (of 9)
20120229-193414.jpg
DC Vertigo: Brian Azzarello and Eduardo Risso

Xenoholics #5
20120229-193931.jpg
Image: Joshua Williamson and Seth Damoose

I’m going out mad. Not always the best way to go out… Promise to keep it short. Here we go!
20120229-200319.jpg

GROW THE FUCK UP YOU EVIL IGNORANT FUCKS.

Love each other and enjoy!
Station!

My band: THIS GOOD ROBOT
My twitter: @THISGOODIDIOT
My Facebook: I NEED TO USE THIS MORE THAN I DO… Sorry.
My Original Comic Art Gallery: Now I’m just showing off…

::VWORP:: ::VWORP::

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

