I believe in Brian K. Vaughan!! We’ve missed you!!

Happy Pi Day Everybody! What a great day for comics! 25 Books this week! If all that came out today was Saga and Locke & Key it would still be one of the best days ever! But we’ve also got the highly anticipated second issues of Thief of Thieves and Peter Panzerfaust, Joshua Hale Fialkov’s third installment of his awesome Doctor Who story, new stuff from Vertigo and the conclusion of the first mini series of The Strange Talents of Luther Strode by Justin Jordan (I think we’re going to be seeing a lot from this guy soon! Really great stuff!

SAGA seems to be the word today around the #comicmarket and for all kinds of good reasons! Brian K. Vaughan’s return to comics is met with wide open arms! As a huge fan of his work myself,

20120314-172434.jpg
(can you tell?) I often complain that he doesn’t write more comics, but after reading the first issue of Saga, I’m reminded just how special his writing is. He’s not writing just to write. His dialog flows so beautifully and is so powerful. Nothing in a Brian K. Vaughan book ever feels fake or half-assed, he commits whole heartily to the character’s development and the worlds he creates for them. I
believe in comic books. I believe in Brian K. Vaughan.

Having said all of that, I would read the shit out of this book with or without Vaughan, because Fiona Staple’s art is simply stunning! This is the first stuff I’ve seen of hers and I’m gonna go ahead and call myself a fan! The character designs are insane and wonderful. The colors are just gorgeous. I can’t wait to turn the page to see what’s next. She really knows how to show facial expression. I truly believed every emotion. That first scene! Are you kidding me?! Simply beautiful! I was immediately involved in their joy and fear of being new parents. Not to mention, Alana’s face when Marko starts chewing through the umbilical chord… perfect!

20120317-133952.jpg
My only complaint is that she works digitally, and ONLY because I want to buy the original art for every single page. Oh well, maybe she’ll do some prints or something so I can throw my money at her.

I know I say it all the time, but I love that Image Comics is taking so many chances with creator owned books that may not always be considered mainstream. It’s exciting not always knowing what to expect, and I’m so rarely disappointed by new titles they’ve been putting out. Keep doing what you are doing. I will keep buying them. That’s a promise.

One last thing about this book before I get into the top 5 pulls.
44 PAGES! NOT ONE FUCKING AD! $2.99! Well done Image Comics. Well done all around.

NERDTOWN, USA’S TOP 5 NEW COMICS 3/14/12:

Saga #1

20120314-161640.jpg
Image Comics: Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Locke & Key: Clockworks #5 (of 6)

20120314-162240.jpg
IDW Publishing: Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez

Crossed: Badlands #1 (Garth Ennis returns to Crossed!!)

20120314-162440.jpg
Avatar Press: Garth Ennis and Jacen Burrows

Saucer Country #1

20120314-162548.jpg
DC Vertigo: Paul Cornell and Ryan Kelly

Conan The Barbarian #2

20120314-162732.jpg
Dark Horse Comics: Brian Wood and Becky Cloonan

Happy Reading!!

What I’m watching this week: picked up the Tintin blu-ray by Steven Moffat (Very exciting!) and I’m like 3 episodes behind on Alcatraz. The return of Bob’s Burgers was fucking awesome! Please watch this show if you don’t, I never want it to get cancelled!

In other news: SHE SAID YES!!

20120314-165508.jpg
My girlfriend Chelsea and I are getting married!! I know right?! Crazy! I couldn’t be happier! She makes being in love the easiest thing I’ve ever done and I can’t wait to spend the rest of my life with her!

20120314-165632.jpg
Aren’t we adorable?!

THE BREAK CONTEST: ROUND 2:
Don’t forget to grab your tickets for Round to of the Bamboozle Break Contest! Help This Good Robot play the main stage at this year’s Bamboozle! It’s totally in your hands! We are playing Round 2 of the Break Contest on Saturday, March 31st! Door are at 11AM, We go on at 5 PM! You can buy tickets NOW at This Good Robot Merch !!!
Thank you so much for all of the support! We can’t do this without you!

My band: THIS GOOD ROBOT
My twitter: @THISGOODIDIOT
My Facebook: I NEED TO USE THIS MORE THAN I DO… Sorry.
My Original Comic Art Gallery: Now I’m just showing off…

::VWORP:: ::VWORP::

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

